Undergraduate Awards

Undergraduate Awards

Michael William Mitchell Memorial Fund

The Michael William Mitchell Memorial Fund was established in 1960 by U.S. Supreme Court Justice William O. Douglas and others in honor of Michael, a Cornell-educated geologist. Each year, the award is given to a "geology student who proves himself adept at other liberal arts fields as well as geology—a student of the world." All juniors and seniors majoring in Earth and Atmospheric Sciences, regardless of concentration, are eligible for the award. Considered in naming award winners are the characteristics and interests typified by the late Michael William Mitchell. An annual call for self-nominations, with accompanying information on those characteristics and interests, is sent to all Earth and Atmospheric Sciences majors. The department anticipates making two to four awards of $3,500 each to outstanding juniors and seniors within the major each year. Winners in their junior year are not eligible to receive the award again in their senior year.

Chester Buchanan Memorial Award

The Chester Buchanan Memorial Award was established in 1936 by Mrs. Claire Buchanan in memory of her son. The award, which provides a cash prize in the amount of $2,500, is presented each year to an outstanding senior in geology, who has been recommended by the faculty for the award.

Frank H. T. Rhodes Award

The Frank H. T. Rhodes Award was established in 2004 by the Andrew Allen Foundation to honor President Emeritus Rhodes, who served as president of Cornell from 1977 to 1995 and who has championed education and research throughout his life. The award, which provides a cash prize in the amount of $2,500, is given each year to the senior with the highest GPA in the Earth and Atmospheric Sciences major.