Subjects and Concentrations

Each graduate field is composed of one or more subjects of study, which are broad categories that may actually be the same as the field itself. For example, the Graduate Fields of Atmospheric Sciences offers only one subject: Atmospheric Sciences and the Graduate Field of Geological Sciences offers only one subject: Geological Sciences. Each subject may then be divided into specialized areas called concentrations. A faculty member in a graduate field represents one or more concentrations within that graduate field, and a student elects a specific concentration by adding a faculty member who represents that concentration to their Special Committee. The chairperson represents the major subject and concentration and minor members represent minor subjects and concentrations. The faculty member who represents a concentration on a Special Committee determines the specific requirements that the student must complete related to that concentration. 

The Graduate Field of Atmospheric Sciences currently does not have concentrations but is petitioning to add concentrations.

A list of concentrations available within the subject of Geological Sciences is included below: 

  • Economic Geology
  • Engineering Geology
  • Environmental Geophysics
  • General Geology
  • Geobiology
  • Geochemistry and Isotope Geology
  • Geohydrology
  • Geomorphology
  • Geophysics
  • Geotectonics
  • Marine Geology (minor)
  • Mineralogy
  • Ocean Science and Technology
  • Paleontology
  • Petroleum Geology
  • Petrology
  • Planetary Geology
  • Precambrian Geology
  • Quaternary Geology
  • Rock Mechanics
  • Sedimentology
  • Seismology
  • Stratigraphy
  • Structural Geology