Alumni News and Events

Retirement Celebration and INSTOC Symposium October 14-15, 2019

The Institute for the Study of the Continents (INSTOC) and the Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences at Cornell University will host a symposium and retirement celebration honoring Larry Cathles, Bob Kay, and Bill White on October 14th and 15th of 2019.  This will be a great opportunity to meet past colleagues and see the exciting changes in INSTOC and the department. It would be wonderful to have as many of our grads return as possible. Please consider attending and save the date!

2019 Geological Society of America Medal and Award Recipients

Suzanne Mahlburg Kay, 2019 Distinguished Geologic Career Award

2019 Awards and Honors - American Meteorological Society

Samson Hagos, Ph.D. '07, received the Clarence Leroy Meisinger Award - Early Career
For novel use of observations, theory, and modeling to advance understanding of tropical convection and its interactions with the large-scale circulation

Jasper Kok, former EAS postdoc (Mahowald), received the Henry G. Houghton Ward - Early Career For novel approaches to studying the physics of dust emissions into the atmosphere and the interactions of dust aerosols with Earth’s climate system and beyond

2018 Class of American Geophysical Union (AGU) Fellows

Simon L. Klemperer Ph.D '85, Professor of Geophysics, Stanford University

Geological Society of America (GSA)

William R. Brice, Ph.D. '71, received the Mary C. Rabbitt History of Geology Award, History and Philosophy of Geology Section

Manfred Strecker, Ph.D. '87, received the James B. Thompson Distinguished International Lecturer Award

Gregory D. Hoke, Ph.D. '05, was elected a 2018 GSA Fellow

2016  Geological Society of America (GSA) W. Storrs Cole Memorial Research Award: Phoebe Cohen, AB Arts & Sciences, '02

2016 American Geophysical Union's (AGU) Section and Focus Group Awardees: Eric Fielding, PhD '89, Ivan J. Mueller Award for Service and Leadership (Geodesy Section); Robert Reilinger, PhD '79, Paul G. Silver Award (Joint Award: Geodesy, Seismology, and Tectonophysics Sections); Class of 2016 AGU Fellow: Jeff Vervoort, PhD '93

2015 MEDALS and HONORS from the GSA: Steve Squyres, AB '78; PhD '81, President's Medal, Geological Society of America; Manfred Strecker, MS '83; PhD '87, Honorary GSA Fellow; Jon Pelletier, PhD '97, GSA Fellow


July 2, 2019

UI professor uses satellites to improve earthquake response Bill Barnhart, University of Iowa assistant professor and former EAS graduate student explains his use of satellite imagery to assist earthquake responders.

Bill Barnhart, University of Iowa professor and former EAS graduate student

June 5, 2018

Radiocarbon cycle studies may call for change of historical calibration Tree-ring research of the southern Levant region by Sturt Manning, PI, and EAS alums Carol Griggs...

Colleagues collaborate to finish late geologist’s book

June 5, 2018

Colleagues collaborate to finish late geologist’s book When Art Bloom died a year ago, five of the late geology professor’s colleagues collaborated with...